Metabolic Signalling in the Cardiovascular System




Welcome to the 8th Annual Meeting of The Society for Heart and Vascular Metabolism. The Society for Heart and Vascular Metabolism was founded in 2001, with the intent of providing a forum for the free exchange of ideas by a group of investigators that had a special interest in the multiple roles of intermediary metabolism in the cardiovascular system. The first meeting was held in Freiburg, Germany in 2003, followed by meetings in Montebello, Canada (2004), Oxford, England (2005), Semiahmoo, Washington (2006), Maastricht, the Netherlands (2007), Boston, Massachusetts (2008) and Padova, Italy (2009). All of these highly successful meetings have had their own flavor. An important aim of the Society is to foster interactions between young investigators and senior scientists and our meetings are deliberately designed to maximize these interactions. There is growing recognition across many areas of scientific investigation and in the cardiovascular arena of the importance of metabolic homeostasis. The Society for Heart and Vascular Metabolism intends to remain at the vanguard of this rapidly expanding area.

The complex interactions between signal transduction pathways with metabolism and the role of metabolites as signaling intermediates themselves, is a growing area of investigation. Thus the theme of the 2010 meeting will explore novel concepts underscoring the cross talk between metabolism and signal transduction. The organizing committee has put together an outstanding program in a spectacular setting, and we look forward to seeing you soon in Kananaskis in the Canadian Rockies.

Gary D. Lopaschuk, PhD · Chair, Organizing Committee
E. Dale Abel, MD PhD · President, SHVM


Important dates

  • Registrations and abstract submissions open
    February 25, 2010
  • Notification of abstract selections
    July 9, 2010
    Participants who submitted abstracts are currently being contacted; final notifications will be concluded by 14 July – please be patient...



  • Abstract submissions
    June 14, 2010
  • Early bird registrations
    June 14, 2010


Organising Committee  

Gary Lopaschuk (Chair)

Edmonton, Alberta

E. Dale Abel (Co-Chair)

Salt Lake City, UT

Mike Allard

Vancouver, British Columbia

Jason Dyck

Edmonton, Alberta